Facebook-owned Instagram has launched a novel feature that permits users to hide photos from public display. The new Instagram feature called ”Archive” enables you to move posts already shared with followers into a space that is visible only to you and authorised persons.
You and I have some special pictures which can be euphemistically referred to as’dirty laundry’ that we don’t want our followers to catch a glimpse of or we would prefer to share just to love ones. This new Instagram feature is here to take care of all the worries.
Instagram is making it best to discourage users from deleting posts from the platform. With this novel feature, users have the option to restore archived photos back to their public profile whenever desired.
How this new Instagram feature works
To archive a post you’ve already shared, tap “…” at the top of the post and choose “Archive.” You’ll still be able to see it when you tap the Archive icon in the top right corner of your profile. That way, you can always return to these posts and see previous likes and comments from friends. If you change your mind about a post you’ve archived, tap “Show on Profile” at any time and it’ll show up in its original spot.
According to the Instagram blog post, “Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time. With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter.”
The updates are available as part of Instagram version 10.21 and above for iOS, in the Apple App Store, and for Android, in Google Play.
More to that, the photo sharing platform recently launched several new features such as support for web links, hashtag stories and more.
Do have any of the dirty laundry pics? Have fun taking care of them with the new Instagram feature!EN FR