Facebook has notified people of the change they are about to make concerning photos. This comes at a time when Facebook is making the move to ensure that users integrate every part of their lives with the social network.
A notice was sent out to warn Facebook users that if they hesitate to download the new photo-specific Moments app, all their synced photos would be deleted, as a consequence. The email further explained that photos from mobile devices that are auto-synchronized with the main Facebook application will only be available latest July 7. After this time, the photos will be completely removed.
The corporation explained in a statement, “The feature was launched in 2012 when people took photos on their phones, but still posted primarily from computers. People that use photo syncing will have the option to move the photos they’ve previously synced to our new app Moments, where they will be able to view, download, or delete them”
This move by the corporation is not new. It is akin to the controversial move Facebook made some time ago when it disabled messaging in its main app, as reported by theverge.
How does this Facebook Moments App Work?
This app automatically uploads photos from a phone’s local camera roll to a private album on Facebook. They are kept there for storage, but also to make it easy to later share them publicly on the social network. The Moments app will reportedly be required for those hoping to have the social network privately upload photos from their smartphone.
In order to see which photos are at risk of being deleted, you can look for an album titled “Synced” and download them via a zip file or concede to Moments. Users who are not willing to adopt the new Moments app are authorized to download their pictures in a zip file.